Mind, Body, and Soul #1

To spice things up on my blog I’m going to be starting a series called ‘Mind, Body, and Soul’. I’m not sure how regularly I’ll be doing these posts, but I’ll be using them to share with you guys what I’ve been into recently.

On a different note, happy Valentines Day! I hope your Sunday was spent doing something enjoyable. I went on a high ropes course with the people I volunteer with. It was pretty fun but I am SO glad that it is over. We were all exhausted and in varying degrees of pain by the end of the day.

Without further ado, here is Mind, Body, and Soul:

Screen shot 2016-02-15 at 9.13.44 PM

IMG_2147

If you went Christmas shopping last year you probably witnessed the full force of the Adult Colouring Book trend. Colouring books for adults certainly took off in New Zealand, particularly amongst teens, and I have recently fallen victim to them. A major selling point of these books is that they relieve stress and relax you. I disagree! I find myself more stressed knowing that I could be doing anything productive yet I am choosing to sit down and colour in roofs or something, hahaha. However, I do find colouring really enjoyable. I think it’s something you don’t really grow out of enjoying, you just progress onto different/more socially acceptable forms of colouring and art – like painting, colour co-ordinating outfits, interior design, etc.

IMG_2153.JPG

Naturally, my colouring book is travel inspired. I absolutely love it. All the drawings are stunning and there’s a lot of variety in how they are drawn. To any other travel-obsessed colourers I highly recommend checking this one out.

11201971_ori

I’m still swooning over this film. Brooklyn is the perfect Valentines Day movie, but you really don’t need to use that as an excuse to watch it. The leads Saorise Ronan and Emory Cohen are a delight and fans of the Irish accent are in for a definite treat. Brooklyn follows the story of a young Irish woman, Eilis, who moves to New York in the 1950s. She falls in love with a gorgeous local man, however their relationship is tested when she decides to return home in unfortunate circumstances.  Brooklyn is a beautiful, heartwarming film which makes you laugh as easily as it makes you cry. The acting, dialogue, and cinematography couldn’t have captured love and homesickness more perfectly.

Brooklyn is the film adaption of Colm Toibin’s novel of the same name.

Screen shot 2016-02-15 at 9.13.51 PM

I joined a gym last week. I’m not at all athletic or sporty, so this was a surprise to a lot of people in my life. So far I have been a grand total of three times but I am loving it. If any of you are thinking about joining a gym or have reservations about doing so, I encourage you to just go ahead and join one! Opt for one with a shorter membership or a casual membership if you’re hesitant. I spent ages trying to decide if this gym was the right one for me until I realised that I couldn’t know for sure unless I joined. So far so good! (I say that as my body is in agony. Weight machines for the first time + that darn ropes course = a painful combination).

Screen shot 2016-02-15 at 9.13.58 PM

For this section I thought that I would share with you a couple of songs I’ve had on repeat recently. I have a very random taste in music so in each Mind, Body, and Soul I will introduce you to something (I hope) you haven’t heard before.

Screen shot 2016-02-15 at 9.29.38 PM.png260abca77be709ff5142485971c27e0c-960x960x131386554_800_800

Channeling Daft Punk’s Get Lucky vibes, Thrilla in Manila by Greyson Chance is my most played song of last week. It’s a groovy summertime song that I probably wouldn’t have discovered if not for Spotify. I play this song at all times of the day. I even had it stuck in my head while having on for dear life on the course! That’s when you know it’s probably time to cut back on listening to a certain song. 

Thank goodness for Shazaam, because it lead me to this French gem. Mon Coeur Avait Raison (My Heart was Right) by Maître Gims is exactly the kind of ‘dramatic’ song that I like. Here is the English translation of the lyrics.

Six60 is a New Zealand band and they always deliver great summer tunes. Stay Together is another song you might want to add to your playlist before the warm weather disappears, or in preparation for your summer if you’re in the Northern Hemisphere!

Finally, here’s a quote in the spirit of Valentines Day: 

Screen shot 2016-02-15 at 9.25.26 PM.pngWhat have you been into recently?

Leave a Reply

